PODCAST: Yeshua in Context – Exorcism and Yeshua

Exorcism, or the casting out of demons, is a topic much maligned by images from movies. The idea of evil spirits, fallen angels, and demons is very ancient and is one of the concepts from the supernatural realm most difficult for moderns to believe in. Even those who accept that the natural and material is not all there is have trouble with the existence of demons. Very few metaphysical ideas sound as impossible as unclean spirits.

Before examining some stories of Yeshua casting demons out of people and healing them, it would be well to consider the Jewish-Biblical view of demonic spirits. It might help to understand if we locate the exorcism stories of Yeshua in the Jewish world and not in the images of Hollywood.

LISTEN ONE OF TWO WAYS:

(1) If you have iTunes, search Yeshua in the iTunes store and subscribe.

(2) If you don’t use iTunes, go to this link at derekleman.com.

My book Yeshua in Context: Sketches of the Life and Times of Yeshua the Messiah will be released later in 2010. Stay tuned for news and some ways to be involved.

About Derek Leman

Rabbi, writer, Weight Watchers leader, blogger, geek. My main blog is DerekLeman.com/Musings and my health blog is LemansLoserBlog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Bible, messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism, Yeshua and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PODCAST: Yeshua in Context – Exorcism and Yeshua

  1. amiel4messiah says:

    Derek, this is a fascinating subject and I’m surprised that nobody has commented yet. It is deeply influenced by Christian theology and Greek mythology. Are demons mentioned in the Tanakh? There is very little on the afterlife (in the Tanakh) and yet, the Messiani scriptures are full of references to angels, demons and the afterlife. Clearly, Yeshua’s audience must have been familiar with the subject matter, otherwise why would He have brought it up so often? Also, on a slightly related subject, my (Jewish) understanding on hell is somewhat different from the Christian one in that ALL G-d’s punishments (however severe) are always restorative because G-d is the essense of purpose.

  2. amiel4messiah:

    Thanks for bringing up these issues. I will try and blog more about this in the next few weeks (if I remember). I will be teaching on Yeshua and exorcism at synagogue in a few weeks and will be doing more reading and preparation.

    Your views on hell are interesting. I recognize that hell is not nearly so well defined in the Bible as people think. I have a chapter on it in my World to Come book in which I choose to lean toward the traditional side a little bit, but with giant question marks. So, in the end do you think God’s grace will restore everyone, even the worst of sinners (universalism) or do you think there might be some limit, such as the free will of people to refuse grace?

    Derek Leman

  3. Hi, Great podcast as usual. Concerning the issue of Hell raised by amiel4messiah I am not as convinced of a black and white answer as I once was. I grew up in Northern ireland where Hell fire and brimstone preaching was the main thing people preached about and to a smaller degree it still is. It wasn’t until I started searching into heraic roots and reading what some Messianics where teaching that I realised that it wasn’t maybe as black and white. I started reading about everything from anniahilationism to Universalism and everything inbetween. I began to realise very quickly that a lot of what I had been taught was not explicitly in the Bible but at the same time none of the other views where either. My main problem isn’t so much whether Hell, hades, Sheol, Gehena exist (and there is a lot of teaching on the differences on these places) but rather in finding out there purpose and who goes where. When I started studying more of the Torah I began to realise that not all sins received the same punishment and I wonder is this the case with Hell that not everyone receives the same punishment there also. I find it hard to contemplate that God would send some one like Bin laden and the Hitlers of this world to hell as well as the little old woman down the street and those who have never heard the Gospel. Because of my Background I still would hold to the eternal punishment view but I have become a bit agnostic about it. I have even heard some Messianic who teach the Eternal perspective say that they do so more in keeping with the Pharisee tradition of putting a hedge around doctrine rather that teaching correct doctrine. Anyone with any thoughts? I would be really grateful.

  4. amiel4messiah says:

    Shalom Derek (and Peter). I very much look forward to more blog contributions from you on these type of subjects. You ask whether I believe if G-d’s grace would save everyone? Straight question – straight answer: Yes! However (I am Jewish, so yes/no answers are not my thing lol)… The trouble with these kind of topics is that they are laced with emotions, very powerful emotions. I guess my starting position would be the election of the Jewish people and our legendary lack of faithfulness through the ages. And yet, and yet in Jeremiah G-d makes it abundantly clear that unless the stars can be counted, Israel will be His chosen nation forever. My second premise is around the concept of ages (olam) in the Hebrew Bible… (and that would include the concept of ‘forever’). The Messianic scriptures were penned by Jews who used Greek, but spoke (and thought) in Hebrew (in other words, their world was ‘Eastern’ and not ‘Western’). A good example would be the word ‘church’ in our English Bibles, which is taken from the Greek Ecclesia but based on the Hebrew Kahal.

    We are not just translating words, but cultures and different concepts and understandings. Only G-d is sovereign, but we do have a degree of free will (and boy can we mess things up). But from Genesis to the Apokalypse (in my opinion, one of the most Jewish books in the Messianic scriptures), I see a G-d who’s whole Being is consumed by restoration. He is the perfect parent. And punishment (however severe) has to have a purpose. Yes, I believe in hell and no, I’m not an ‘annihilationist’ (or whatever they’re called these days). Hell is awful (it is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living G-d) – but Yeshua’s victory will swallow up death and suffering, though it won’t happen overnight.

    I am painfully aware that I have barely skipped the surface and have not (remotely) been able to do justice to your question Derek. I have a client meeting in 10 minutes and am tied up all day. I wanted to at least get the ball rolling and give you some of my thoughts.

    I really appreciate and enjoy this blog. It’s a wonderful tool of learning and I thank you for your continued commitment and sacrifice.

    Kol Tuv brother.

Leave a Reply

