Yeshua in Context PODCAST: Jewish Jesus

Listen here (or subscribe to “Yeshua in Context” on iTunes). Read the transcript here.

Some see him as the “first Christian.” That is an interesting way of putting it. No one, as far as I know, actually uses that terminology. But it is between the lines of much, maybe most, writing about Jesus. The really bad stuff, the all-too-common rhetoric that makes us wince, is the Pharisees-as-Judaism and Jesus-as-the-first-Christian approach.

Why doesn’t the average church and the average pastor present a fuller picture of who Jesus was and is? Why aren’t the gospels read and taken seriously?

I discuss in this podcast some of my own experience. In late 1987, I had just decided that God is real. I had accepted as true the story of Jesus on the cross and Jesus risen from the dead. But the next eye-opener for me was the idea of a Jewish Jesus. I couldn’t let the idea go, even when a local megachurch encouraged me to forget about it and blend in. Maybe you have had a similar experience yourself.

…JUNE 5, 2011 “Eyewitnesses in the Gospels,” a seminar in Atlanta. Email me at yeshuaincontext at gmail if you would like info about coming.
…MARK: AN AUDIO-COMMENTARY IN JUDEO-CHRISTIAN PERSPECTIVE should be ready June 2011.
…More “Yeshua in Context” resources are coming out this year. Stay tuned.

About Derek Leman

Rabbi, writer, Weight Watchers leader, blogger, geek. My main blog is DerekLeman.com/Musings and my health blog is LemansLoserBlog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Yeshua In Context. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yeshua in Context PODCAST: Jewish Jesus

  1. truthceeker says:

    I have been focused on this issue too lately. :-)

Leave a Reply

