You Never Know What You Will Find…

I just visited my local Christian bookstore. It has been a while since I’ve been in. You never know what you will find.

I just bought something fantastic. It is an audio Bible, but with something I’ve never seen before.

This is a star-studded, dramatic reading of the Bible by black actors and ministers. Think Denzel Washington (he and his wife do Song of Solomon) and Forrest Whitaker (Moses) and Samuel Jackson (God) and many more.

You can see more about it at: http://www.inspiredby.com/home.htm

You can see an interview with Denzel and Paulette Washington on CBS news at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW2UtRIwiCw

I’ve listened to some of it already. I’d say this is a great way to have the Bible read aloud in congregation or in Bible Study. This is a great way to play the Bible for your kids. This is a great way to hear the Bible and let it soak in through an overlooked mode of instruction: auditory learning.

Also, I wondered if the actors were doing this because of their faith commitment to God. I saw a little of the “making of” DVD and it seems that these actors are people of faith. Interesting to know . . .

NOTE: Don’t miss the other two posts today, “N.T. Wright’s Blind Spot” and “Talmud 101 From a Beginner.”

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.