Do I Wear a Yarmulke in Gethsemane?

Yesterday was Ein Gedi, Masada, Jericho, and the Dead Sea. But today we start touring Jerusalem. I want to consider an issue of identity, Yeshua, the Jewish Community, and so on.

Do I wear a yarmulke in Gethsemane?

I mean, obviously I will wear one when I pray at the Wall. I will have to leave it off when I go on the Temple Mount or the Muslim authorities will descend on me quickly.

But what about Gethsemane?

Is there a sort of separation between Jewish prayer and Messianic prayer? When I am in a “Christian”place do I try to look Christian and in a Jewish place try to look Jewish?

Would some Messianics avoid Gethsemane?

These are questions of identity. I spoke the other night to someone who, from a Christian point of view, said that we are really Christians and not Jews. To him, our belief in the divinity of Jesus means we have crossed the line out of Judaism.

But my response to him was: Peter was a Jew.

Would Peter have gone back to Gethsemane to pray? Would he have left his Jewish identity aside and assumed a “Christian”identity?

I don’t think so. Gethsemane is a Jewish place. It is on the Mount of Olives. It is where the Messiah prayed the night before he filled up the prophecies of Isaiah and Zechariah. It is every bit as Jewish as the Wall.

So, I will put on my yarmulke as I pray in Gethsemane. My identity is not divided. I am with Israel and I am praying with Israel in Gethsemane and praying in the name of the one who was and is Israel’s truest and greatest son.

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish, Travel Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do I Wear a Yarmulke in Gethsemane?

  1. Connie says:

    Thanks for the travelogue. Wish we were there.

  2. gabbybatdavid says:

    Shalom! I am new here! I just typed in Messianic blogs in a search engine and yours came up! Anyhow, I really enjoyed this post!

  3. kmeister says:

    The issue as a Jew is all one of divinity.Having one declare you son of G-d is alot different than G-d the son.
    Traditional Christianity is still deeply routed in
    the absolute deity of Yeshua,contrary to mainstream Judaic thought which would have no man becoming G-D,idolatry in Jewish eyes.

  4. Yochai says:

    [quote]Would some Messianics avoid Gethsemane?

    These are questions of identity.[/quote]

    Sure, and maturity insights. When the traditional judaism becomes more maturity upon his analsys about the messianic thought, by realize we dont have another god and Yeshua as Hashem is the only way to avoid idolatry as soon Mashiach comes, maybe a lot of my brothers would strongly consider Yeshua the Mashiach. Keep identity is what messianic jews should do, they cannot, as Derek told, try to look likes a jew when between jews and a christian when with them. We, jews, must pursuit our identity, teach our children as they will learn by example and that kind of example would provide a new messianic generation of true and undoubtable jewish root, ready to Messiah, as soon He would look and see His family complete.

  5. Yochai says:

    small attitudes as wear kippot make great difference

  6. rabbiadam says:

    What interests me in this post is that the question comes up at all in the mind. One of the things we have to get a grip on in Messianic Judaism is being comfortable in our identity as Israelites (re)grafted into Israel through faith in Messiah. Once we get comfortable in that identity, questions of “Jewish” and “Christian” separations become relatively moot. The Jews are our brothers, as are the Christians, and we should be comfortable functioning in both worlds, as long as we remain true to what we believe.

    I’ve started attending a Sunday morning Christian fellowship — the group is planning to co-lease a building with my Messianic congregation — and I have no difficulties wearing a kippah and tallit when I fellowship with them. (It’s not a “service” per se, but there is prayer and music and teaching, but it’s very informal.) They have gotten comfortable not only with me there, but asking me (constantly) about the Jewish roots of things.

Leave a Reply

