Last Day in Israel

We’re coming home today. I am ready. I love Israel, but being here with only one of my eight children and missing my wife, home cannot arrive soon enough. To see my family, go to derekleman.com

Yesterday we went to the Yad VaShem (Holocaust museum), to the fruit and vegetable market, and to help out with the Temple Dirt Dig.

Yad VaShem helped me kick a feeling of uselessness I haqve been feeling, as if the things I do for God do not matter. I see the importance of life and death and I realize that representing God in this world is a blessing and something very needed, even if people do not realize it. Sometimes, I let little discouragements make me think it is not so important encouraging people to read Torah and know God. Facing the reality of evil and death renews my sense of calling.

Helping at the Temple Dirt Dig is our little contribution to discovering Israel’s past. The dirt came from illegal Muslim construction on the Temple mount that removed 400 truckloads of archaeologically rich dirt and stone. People have found amazing things helping in this project, usually students and tourists volunteering. Every year we find at least one coin and a few other interesting items. The best thing this year was a complete, unbroken Roman nail.

Well, Linda and kids, I will see you soon, but not soon enough.

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish, Travel Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

