Books I’m Reading

We have a Messianic Jewish Musings book review program. The idea is simple: kind, wonderful people buy me books which I will review on the blog. I know, sounds ridiculous, but who knows? Before long, I might talk you into buying me a book :-)

One reader bought me The Rabbi of 84th Street by Warren Kozak. It is a story about a rabbi who survived the Holocaust and who is much beloved in New York. When I review the book, I think you will see its value immediately. It is profound, the dictionary definition of which is “having or showing great knowledge or insight.” I think the dictionary should have added something to that definition, “that which is simple yet has or shows great knowledge or insight.” I will be reviewing it this week and I am halfway one.

Another kind reader bought be The Lost History of Christianity by Philip Jenkins, a book about the once mighty Christendom of the Middle East virtually wiped out by Islam. I wanted this book to help tell the story of Islam’s devastating track record of cultural destruction. If you are a nice Muslim reading this blog, great. God loves you. But the people you associate with are destroying the world.

A few other books likely to be on my review list soon include:

My Jesus Year by Benyamin Cohen, a different Jewish spin of A.J. Jacob’s The Year of Living Biblically.

Jewish Living: A Guide to Contemporary Reform Practice by Mark Washofsky. I think some readers, prone to count only Orthodox Judaism as legitimate, will be surprised by what I have to say about this book. Reform makes more sense than a lot of people think. I about 1/4 of the way through it.

The Blue Parakeet by Scott McKnight, a conservative and yet progressive book about how to read the Bible. So far I am loving it. If the last half does not disappoint I may even use it in training people who want to become better Bible readers.

Want to buy me a book? How about:

The Bible, Rocks and Time: Geological Evidence for the Age of the Earth, by Davis Young
The Commentator’s Bible: The Jps Miqra’ot Gedolot: Exodus, by Michael Carasik
Abraham’s Promise: Judaism and Jewish-Christian Relations (Radical Traditions), by Michael Wyschogrod and R. Kendall Soulen
Border Lines: The Partition of Judaeo-Christianity (Divinations: Rereading Late Ancient Religion), by Daniel Boyarin

Email me at derekblogger@gmail.com

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Messianic Jewish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books I’m Reading

  1. mchuey says:

    Have you ever read The Genesis Question: Scientific Advances and the Accuracy of Genesis by Hugh Ross? This would be an excellent read to add.

    Ross’ books do not necessarily include info that people are ready to midrash about in our yearly examination of Bereisheet and Noach–but this will undoubtedly be a subject matter worthy of consideration in the years to come. Better to be prepared well in advance.

    JKM

  2. robyndevorah says:

    I think that once you finish reading and reviewing those books, you should give them away to your loyal blog readers. That way, everybody wins! ;)

Leave a Reply

