Books, Books, and Books

I love books. Last night, meeting with the leaders of my synagogue, I was delighted to be able to tell them I managed not to overspend, but actually to underspend, my book budget for 2008.

With money tight, I’m glad I did not cause any budgetary dilemmas. But I’m sad that I don’t have as many books as I could (in a maximal sense of could).

This year, my book budget is cut in half from last year. It is sad but necessary in these times.

In fact, the number 1 book on my amazon wish list is more than my new monthly book budget.

Just in the self-serving potentiality that any gracious donors out there wish to contact me and offer to purchase any of the books on my list, I am linking it here:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/3KB4S1ZQQ10MR

BTW, thanks to those who have already sprung for a few books for me and for another friend who ordered a book for me by interlibrary loan.

Don’t miss my book review of Scot McKnight’s the Blue Parakeet, below. In fact, read it a second or third time . . .

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books, Books, and Books

  1. Thomas says:

    You might want to have a look at another Richard Baukham book that was published in November: Jesus and the God of Israel: God Crucified and Other Studies on the New Testament’s Christology of Divine Identity. 0802845592. I just ordered it yesterday. You can preview it on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

