In-Depth Article: Passover and Yeshua’s Crucifixion

In recent weeks we had a lot of controversy here at Messianic Jewish Musings about Passover, the Last Supper, and the timing of Yeshua’s crucifixion and resurrection. I have taken some of the earlier material, made an extensive introduction explaining options and alternative theories, and have laid it all out in a 14 page paper. Whew! That’s a lot to read, I know.

In the introduction, I spell out a number of proposals by which it is possible to doubt that Yeshua’s Last Supper was a Passover Seder held on a Thursday night. There is the alternative chronology view, popular among people who love Torah but are skeptical of the Jewish calendar. There is the view that the gospel accounts are contradictory or that multiple calendars were used by multiple groups of Jews, or that the Last Supper was a Quasi-Passover.

In the article, I spell all this out in depth and deal with most of the issues. I did not include a section dealing with the claim of Daniel Gregg and others that Yeshua was raised on a Saturday and not a Sunday. That is a good issue for a separate blog post. I may get around to it on Sunday, resurrection day (according to me and millions of others but not to Gregg).

Anyway, I know 14 pages is a lot, but there is a lot of white space, the font is big, and its a good thing to snuggle up with over a cup of coffee and a Bible during these holidays.

You can access the paper on the Tikvat David Torah Learning page here. It is called “Passover and Yeshua’s Crucifixion.”

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In-Depth Article: Passover and Yeshua’s Crucifixion

  1. danielgregg says:

    Hi Derek,
    I replied to your 14 page paper here:

    LINK DELETED BY BLOG OWNER

    Briefly it points out that the phrase in Matthew 26:17, Mark 14:12, and Luke 22:7 is mistranslated. I propose a translation by C.S. Mann and W.F. Albright given in the Anchor Bible (Matthew). Here is my version of it, “”Concerning the first day of unleavened bread the disciples came to Yeshua, saying ….”. In otherwords, it wasnt Nisan 15. They were just asking what to do about Nisan 15.

    Daniel Gregg

  2. danielgregg says:

    Happy Passover!

  3. warland52 says:

    I will read your article with interest. I have read various views on these things as well. So I look forward to your bringing it all together.

    I had a wonderful Paschal Feast. On saturday evening I attended the Paschal (Easter) Vigil. My favorite liturgy of the year. If you ever venture to darken the doorstep of a Catholic Church, this is the service I recommend. Very linked into the old testament and the passover as well (the phrase “Jesus our passover” is used a couple times). I also love it for the Litany of the Saints (but now we’re getting “catholic”!).

    On Sunday morning, I took the opportunity to attend a Chaldean (Iraqi) Catholic Church. I attended the English liturgy but much of the liturgy was in the form of syriac/aramaic traditional to that Church. Likely very close to the language of the Lord and the disciples….The Lord’s Prayer in Aramaic!

    Hope you had a wonderful Feast of the Resurrection!
    Yeshua is truly risen!

    Todd

  4. Connie says:

    “Link deleted by blog owner”

    Derek,

    What does that mean? Did Daniel Gregg delete it or did you? Please respond.

    • Connie:

      I deleted the link. In my opinion his material is both anti-Church and anti-Judaism. I will not promote that kind of material on my blog. I deeply respect Christianity and Judaism. I reserve the right to make such decisions about Messianic Jewish Musings.

      Derek

  5. tandi119 says:

    In my opinion, Daniel Gregg’s materials are pro-truth and anti-error. I hope the Sabbath Resurrection will get a fair hearing based on its merits from a Scriptural, historical, linguistical point of view, without prejudice. Will you dialogue at torahtimes.org forum, Derek? This would be helpful. Many Messianics have come out of churches expecting to find truth in Messianic Judaism, not more Good Friday myths and defenses of long-standing Jewish and Christian errors and biases. I thought this movement was about weeding out centuries of errors, misunderstandings, and suppression of truth and returning to the faith of the first century disciples of Yeshua?

    Shalom, Tandi

    http://tandi-1964.blogspot.com/

    I hope it is okay to link to my own blog. If I had a WordPress blog, your readers would be able to click on my name to get to my blog.

  6. danielgregg says:

    Hi Derek,
    You stated,

    “In my opinion his material is both anti-Church and anti-Judaism.”

    Now I’m sure that you are anti-Judaism on some majority Jewish beliefs, and anti-Christian on other Christian majority beliefs.

    I dispute the generality of your statement. Can you support it with the specific anti-Christian or anti-Judaism point that you disagree with me on that was made in my response to your 14 page paper?

    Daniel Gregg

Leave a Reply

