A.N. Wilson: Critic of Jesus, Now a Follower

Wow! I just saw this on Scot McKnight’s blog (a favorite hangout of mine).

A.N. Wilson, British writer and formerly a fervent critic of Christianity and religion, and author of a book which dismisses Jesus, is not only a believer, he has written a sharp rallying cry against the drift away from God in England:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1169145/Religion-hatred-Why-longer-cowed-secular-zealots.html

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A.N. Wilson: Critic of Jesus, Now a Follower

  1. tandi119 says:

    I like his comments in this article even more:

    http://www.newstatesman.com/religion/2009/04/conversion-experience-atheism

    This gives me hope for my atheist friends……yet the hypocrisy, compromise, and syncretism in religion that fuels disillusionment and departure from the faith is still apparent.

    • Tandi119:

      Is necessary to say about such wonderful news that in your opinion religion is tainted with syncretism? I have news: humanity is tainted with compromise and syncretism and religion always involves humanity. My worship is not pure and neither is yours or anyone else’s, but God always honors movement in the right direction.

      Derek

  2. tandi119 says:

    Derek,

    Provocative statements are designed to provoke discussion. You make some, Dan makes some, I make some. May the discussion begin! I find more open-mindedness to discuss various points of view amongst my atheist friends than in the Messianic/Christian online communities.

    Partially due to ignoring or banning the questions and concerns of the constituency, some Messianics and Christians have fallen away from the faith. Rejection and lack of fellowship takes its toll. Atheism then beckons and is becoming quite popular these days. There are over 600 Atheist bloggers, and I have become acquainted with some whose stories are quite interesting. One is from an Orthodox Jewish background, about to marry a lapsed Catholic, much to the dismay of the Orthodox family. Many have legitimate grievances with “religion.” I suspect they are hurting people, lost sheep.

    I am not necessarily speaking of you in particular when I make comments here. You are representative, and have a high profile. I like to be a voice for those who are afraid to speak up…..the “hidden Messianics”…….until I am silenced, which I have learned by experience to expect.

    I agree with your statement: “God always honors movement in the right direction.”

    Shalom,

    Tandi

  3. Connie says:

    “I find more open-mindedness to discuss various points of view amongst my atheist friends than in the Messianic/Christian online communities.”

    I am deeply sorry to say that I have had the same experience.

  4. Trudi Nurse says:

    Christ was and led THE WAY. Follow it and you will find the truth and not get bogged down by questions and your own intellectual pride. I am reading A.N. Wilson’s book on Paul and can’t put it down.

Leave a Reply

