Needed Literature for Messianic Judaism: A Proposal

100_05151Imagine a publisher for Messianic Judaism where much of the content is available free for download or at low cost for print.

Imagine a publisher of Yeshua-Centered materials for Jewish living.

It’s an idea that has been forming in my head for months. It’s not about profit (though it is not a non-profit). It is, however, about maximizing readers and users.

My experience in publishing (not vast, but nothing to scoff at either) and in the emerging reality of online communities tells me that content isn’t worth what it used to be. There is so much out there, most can get it for free.

But people do want quality. So why not publish with a partially free and the rest on the cost-effective side philosophy?

I’d like to try it (in my “spare” time) and I’d like to find qualified people who want to contribute (not for free, but not for maximum profits either).

I may end up with egg on my face and fail completely at this. But great things are worth trying.

I just posted a website with more details. You can even donate if you want (I know, but somebody just might).

Here is the link: mountolivepress.com

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Needed Literature for Messianic Judaism: A Proposal

  1. heavenisnear says:

    great idea. i looked at the website, really like the ideas you have on there.
    shalom,
    cliff

  2. judahgabriel says:

    Derek,

    Interesting idea. I hope it works out.

    If I may suggest a clarification on what you mean by qualified people — it’s a vague term. Also, it’s not clear what kind of materials you’re looking for — group study materials? Dissertations?

  3. Update:

    I have had three book proposals and a donation already!

    I don’t think I said this anywhere, but Mount Olive Press already exists (tiny company) and this is about changing its focus from typical profit models to a service model (with some profit still).

    I will from time to time update the ideas on mountolivepress.com and add free material as I work on development. Working now on a booklet on Ruth, or possibly will include in the Shavuot haggadah with material for a chevruta or havurah group to use for discussion and mutual learning.

    Derek

  4. Judah:

    Qualified means people who can do research and write. If you have any ideas that fit our publishing criteria I would consider you qualified. Awwwww :-)

    Derek

  5. judahgabriel says:

    Heheh, ok, cool. Well I hope it works out. If I have some ideas, I’ll throw them your way. I’ll be keeping an eye on this project.

Leave a Reply

