Reading and Applying the Gospels, Pt 1

I am at the MJRC (Messianic Jewish Rabbinical Council, ourabbis.org) through Tuesday. I am not a member, but I am a candidate this year to be a member (crossing my fingers). I won’t be blogging about the meetings, but will be posting some reflections from some of my research and teaching notes on The Yeshua in Context Sourcebook. It will be a collection of lists helping people have discussions about the gospels, about Yeshua in Context, and to aid further study of the gospels and the life of Yeshua the Messiah. I’m having fun working on many lists such as:

-All the Teachings of Yeshua
-The “I Am” (Eigo Eimi) Sayings in John
-Friend of Sinners and the Lowly in Luke
-Tons more . . .

……………………………………………..

In teaching at my synagogue about Yeshua’s life and the gospels, I sometimes take weeks to discuss matters of application. This topic, I decided to make into a list with discussion questions for The Yeshua in Context Sourcebook I am working on to accompany the main book (due out in August).

I wanted to think about the things we encounter in the gospels that have potential to change our lives. I made a list in a session of brainstorming. Then I came back and reduced my list to six categories and included some of the more detailed thoughts in the descriptions of the categories.

So, here in Part 1, I will simply list the categories and descriptions. I’d be interested if anyone has some thoughts, comments, or additions to the list:

TRANSFORMING ASPECTS OF THE GOSPELS

Faith – Deepening as we enter more into the story, getting us beyond self-centered responses to God, the growing realization of Yeshua’s identity and power and gifts.

Ethics – Submission to the Word, prioritized righteousness, love as the center, selflessness toward people, devotion to God, practicing alms and prayer and fasting.

Peace and Empowerment – Faith in God’s love toward people, receiving gifts from Messiah and the Spirit, resurrection hope, trust in Yeshua’s power.

Mission – Commitment to the Kingdom, working with the Son as he works with the Father, healing, comforting, reconciling, redeeming, serving.

Wisdom – Humility, lack of presumption upon God or people, lack of anxiety, fear of judgment, righteousness as protection and peace.

Worship – Sanctifying God’s name, responding to revelation of Yeshua’s identity, experiencing through story the working of his power.

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Bible, Derek's Writings, messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism, Yeshua. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

