Don’t miss it: discussion on Tithes in Ancient Israel, Pt 2

I am strongly arguing for a system of trained leaders devoted to teaching and pastoral care. Advocates of house-church movements (the Jewish counterpart would be havurot and alternate minyans) are taking me on. I know my rhetoric here is strong. I am trying, in general, to be less confrontational. So my strong stance here may seem like “the old, argumentative Derek,” but the idea I am contending for is important. Feel free to speak just as strongly back to me. I think this discussion is a good one: those in synagogues/churches need a stronger idea of what it is all for; those in informal groups need to understand how they undermine the building of a strong community of faith.

The discussion is two posts down, under “The Tithe in Ancient Israel, Pt 2.”

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Messianic Jewish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

