A Facelift at Mount Olive Press

I spent about four hours redoing my Mount Olive Press website today.

I’m getting ready for the soon release (August 31) of Yeshua in Context: The Life and Times of Yeshua the Messiah.

I’m also realizing what my unique contributions are and aren’t in terms of writing. I think what I offer when it comes to books is unique in the following ways:

(1) Though I read the latest scholarship (not all of it, I read few journals, but many books), I write for a non-expert audience (I don’t write for academics).

(2) I am concise. My books are short. My chapters are digestible in short order.

(3) I bring readers to useful information about the context of Yeshua’s life and other biblical topics.

(4) I see the mystical side of the text, the gaps into which we get glimpses of the Infinite One and his Presence in the ordinary.

(5) I write for people who see beyond the idea that Judaism and Christianity are mutually incompatible.

Anyway, I tried to make the new site for Mount Olive Press reflect these things. I’d appreciate you taking two minutes to check it out: http://mountolivepress.com

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Derek's Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Facelift at Mount Olive Press

  1. jennbrooke says:

    Very nice! I think it’s appealing visually, which draws people in to the REAL treasure, the information and the books themselves.

  2. Mike says:

    I agree Derek. As someone who isn’t an expert, its nice to read a writing style that is complex (sometimes I have to re-read your posts), yet at the same time short enough not to discourage me. Very rich writing, and I look foreward to your book!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Derek – I can’t wait to read your new book – you’re a great writer and I hope that this book will reach millions of people!

  4. jerrib247 says:

    I love the new look…the header, the font type, the colors. It makes it so easy to read. Good job! I agree with Mike. Sometimes I have to back up and re-read a few sentences, but it’s not tiring because your posts aren’t too long. I really enjoy your blog. Thanks for all that you do!

  5. Cliff.C says:

    Pretty tough-looking site. I like it. I enjoyed the excerpt from “World to Come” and have been meaning to check that out.

  6. Cliff.C says:

    oh PS – it would be sweet if you put your other books in the Kindle format for sale on Amazon

  7. The rough, industrial header image combined with the warehouse font for “MOUNT OLIVE PRESS” makes it look like you’re promoting a ’90s grunge band.

    The rest looks good.

  8. Judah:

    Yeah, but I do try to be uber-kool, ya know?

    Derek

Leave a Reply

