Coming Soon, a New Series

In the past, there were many articles here about non-Jews, Torah, Messianic Judaism, Christianity, One Law, Two House, and so on. We often had arguments and some heated exchanges happened. I drew away from these discussions. Mostly there were about a dozen people, including myself, who said the same things over and over again.

I’m not interested in returning to rivalries and disputes about “Messianic Judaism” versus “Gentile Torah Movements.”

But, I share with some who disagree with me a conviction that God is behind the massive interest in Torah among non-Jews. I differ with some of my Messianic Jewish rabbinic colleagues (though others are right with me) about this as well. I stand sort of in the middle. I do not wish to dismiss the validity and power of non-Jews getting involved either in the Church or in Messianic Judaism with Torah and the Jewish community.

So, I will start this week a new series: “Not Jewish and Drawn to Torah” (probably on Tuesday the first post). I will be working on a positive approach to the issue. And, yes, it will contain my opinions which may not fit with other opinions on the matter. I hope that some who differ with me will comment and dialogue in a constructive manner. Constructive means humbly differing while at the same time engaging what the other is saying and all the while being open. I will delete rants and the “I’m not listening but let me throw a dozen Bible verses at you to power slam you on the mat of theological error” comments. But I think better things will happen. I think we may find some common ground. And my audience really is the massive group, tens of thousands, of non-Jews drawn to Torah who live in many Christian denominations. If various One Law and Two House advocates are reading, your input is also welcome and you should be thinking about the greater needs in God’s redemptive plan, because that is the level on which I am thinking and writing here.

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Gentiles, messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming Soon, a New Series

  1. asadia says:

    yay!!!!

  2. Daniel says:

    It might be fruitful to look for a change at what the various halachic sources say about this. To start you could discuss the Rambam in Hilchos Melachim 10:10, and the Radbaz on this. Furthermore, I was pointed to a very useful article from R. Mayer Twersky accessible overhere where he discusses the Rambam and Rav Moshe Feinstein’s interpretation of him.

    Even if people do not consider these things binding, it might be good to be informed about what the halachists say about the issue.

  3. jrickardj says:

    I am looking forward to these articles. I really think that one reason many non Jews are being drawn to Torah is that it is the Word of God, and all throughout scripture we read that we are to keep God’s word, we are to obey God’s word. James 1:22 Be doers of the word.

    I hope the comments that I post and others will help build up the body of Messiah.

  4. Also looking forward to it, Derek!

  5. JustparaDOX says:

    So I’ve been following your blog using my rss reader I find your blogs interesting. I blog on similar topics of hebraic roots or messianic judiasm. Though I consider myself a torah observant gentile and not a messianic jew since that would be impossible. Way of in my family tree I have a couple obscure distant jewish relatives but no immediate family. Anyways I read this and felt like saying something. If you have time you can check out my blogs, I’ve got stuff on learning hebrew, the festivals, but then I cover other things I’m interested in life, music, movies etc check it out http:/paradoxparables.wordpress.com anyways having said that I may join the discussion on torah observant gentiles since I consider myself to be one and I fellowship with others who are like minded. I wish I could get some debate / comments going on some of my blogs lol what’s that trick to all the controversy and midrash

Leave a Reply

