Whaddya Think? Resurrect J-BOM?

We used to have something here called J-BOM (Jewish Book of the Month Club). And we had hundreds of people reading the same Jewish books all over the U.S. and overseas. It was great. A regular Messianic Jewish Musings reader emailed today and asked if I had any plans to resurrect J-BOM. What do you think about the idea? Will you read at least 4 to 6 Jewish books a year? Maybe I should do a J-BOM every other month instead of every month.

Speaking of reading great Jewish books, you should know about this one. And what was my favorite of all the J-BOM books we read (the book that I still think of often, plan to read again, and which sometimes keeps me awake at night thinking deeply about it)? We’ll, I don’t mind giving away the answer. Would something like this book be too academic or philosophically challenging to have on the list? How about some cool offerings from JPS like this one? And my overall favorite Jewish fiction writer, guaranteed to give a good curl up, think deeply, and be moved type of book.

And, speaking of great Jewish books, here is a great scholar describing the second most quintessential Jewish book (yeah, the first is the Hebrew Bible):

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, J-BOM, Judaism, messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whaddya Think? Resurrect J-BOM?

  1. Seth says:

    Hey Derek. I’ve been on a blogging-break as life has changed quite a lot for me. I’ve been wanting to get back to blogging and back to a better reading schedule.

    Not committing to anything, but a bi-monthly J-BOM would be something I’d consider.

  2. Hey Derek,

    I was just thinking about J-Bom this morning! I vote yes–bring it back! I may not be able to keep up with it monthly (bi-monthly seems more do-able)–but I want to know that it’s happening. Yes, to Luzzatto, yes to Chaim Potok, and how about this one for the high holidays?

    Yahnatan

  3. mjdykstra says:

    Derek, if the first book is God in Search of Man, then count me in. I am few chapters into it and love. My church also has a book club that I help run called Theology on Tap and we do Heschel’s Sabbath and loved it. So I have started on this one and the scholastic nature is not overboard. What a gifted writer. Count me in.
    Mark

  4. Cliff.C says:

    I was just thinking about this too, like what book were we on? Wait none. I would love to be “forced” to read Heschel. Some of his books are in my collection and untouched. I agree that bi-monthly (J-BEOM), or EVEN quarterly (J-BOQ) selections would be nice, with variation permitted.

  5. I’m game! I enjoyed reading and blogging on the first few selections but the one a month pace did get me behind. I second the JBOQ recommendation:-).

Leave a Reply

