1st Draft: A Cover for the Upcoming Children’s Book

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Derek's Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1st Draft: A Cover for the Upcoming Children’s Book

  1. Hi Derek,

    It looks good. The only sugestion I would have would to add a bit of colour to it. As a father I know that a bit of colour in a book usually helps to attract the child to it. This is only my opinion. Anyway whatever you do I think that it is a great idea as I think that there is a lack of great material aimed at kids.

    Peter

  2. Illustrations look cool. The Papyrus font is awfully cliche.

  3. tripwire45 says:

    Are there no end to your talents? Oh, you didn’t illustrate it? Nevermind (just kidding).

    I have to agree with Judah, I don’t think the font is right for the project. It’s a children’s book, which means all of the text must be easy to read.

    I like the illustration itself, though. Probably adding color will appeal to kids, but I love the stark black and white myself.

  4. jonboze says:

    I would definitely avoid papyrus. It’s the font everyone turns to when they want something Egyptian. Or middle eastern. Or Asian. Or midieval-fantasy inspired. Or old. Or leafy.. :)

    The title font is nice and matches the cover, but is a little hard to read. The illustration looks good.

Leave a Reply

