Elul Meditation: My Salvation

Psalm 27 is read morning and evening throughout this month of Elul.

It begins, “The Lord is my light and my salvation.”

Salvation is perhaps not the best English word, not because it is not an accurate rendering of ישעה (yeshuah), but because “salvation” has so many false connotations in popular religion. Salvation does not mean “afterlife” specifically or an experience of religious change (conversion).

JPS translates “my help,” perhaps seeking to avoid this confusion. “My rescue” would probably have been better.

What does David mean by “the Lord is my rescue”? Surely David knows that we are not always rescued in every situation. The options include:

(1) David naively thinks he will be rescued from every adversity.

(2) David thinks God would rescue him from every adversity unless he sins (or lacks faith).

(3) David understands “rescue” has many dimensions and is God’s ultimate plan even if temporary adversity is allowed.

I think the third option is most likely. Adversity happens on God’s watch. But the God who watches adversity happen to us is our rescue. What form that rescue will take is sometimes beyond knowing. David had, at best, only a vague notion of rescue beyond death. But he trusted the rescuer even when not knowing how rescue was possible.

About Derek Leman

IT guy working in the associations industry. Formerly a congregational rabbi. Dad of 8. Nerd.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faith, Holidays, Judaism, Life to Come, messianic, Messianic Jewish, Messianic Judaism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Elul Meditation: My Salvation

  1. Pingback: Psalm 27 | Just Jewish.

  2. Maureen LaFaive says:

    The word has nuanced meanings (salvation, deliverance, rescue, etc.), but leaving it untranslated gives us an awareness of the Name of Messiah and Who He is!

    The LORD (YHVH) is my light and my YESHUA……

    This is also taught in the following Scriptures:

    Exodus 15:2:

    The LORD (YHVH) is my strength and song, and He is become my YESHUA….

    Psalm 118:14:

    The LORD (YHVH) is my strength and song, and is become my YESHUA.

    Isaiah 12:2:

    Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD YHVH is my strength and my song; He also is become my YESHUA.

    Very profound statements to ponder!

  3. Pingback: Psalm 27 and the Countdown to Yom Teruah « The Return of Benjamin

Leave a comment